Sunday, June 17, 2012

Aegon Championship: David Nalbandian disqualified for kicking a line-judge

David Nalbandian was disqualified today for kicking a line-judge during the Aegon Championships final at Queen's, UK. The Argentine was playing against Croatia's Marin Cilic and leading the match by 7-6 (7-3) 3-4
According to BBC Sport, Nalbandian has already apologized for kicking an advertising board into the judge's shin, "but complains that the ATP do not apply their rules consistently".
Nalbandian immediately became a Twitter top trend. Pat McEnroe twitted "Incredible scenes, Pimm's being spilled everywhere. Crowd jeering. Cilic wins". He also retweeted a photo from @Alexandria that "says it all", and which we post below.
Fernando Verdasco spoke on Twitter in defense of Nalbadian. "What happened today at Queens is something I've never seen in my life. Nalbandian disqualified for accidentally hitting a line judge". The Spanish posted afterwards that "Nalbandian is a good person" and that he tried "to hit the advertising board not the judge".

Watch what happened in Queens. 

No comments: